The changing tide…

 

We have 16 days until our departure. That means we are in the slightly hectic stage of tidying up all loose ends.  Shopping for a tent. Do we borrow a tent or buy one? We found a great deal online for the Big agnus, she’s a mere 2 lbs. 10 ozs. It seems to me the weight is of particular importance.  Reduce weight where you can. Right?

We’re also getting a first aid kit together, wondering if our shoes are going to make it the entirety of the journey and well, my to do list is not small. There is much to do. I am looking forward to all of it though. It’s all a beautiful element of the process of leaving.

Change is in the air for many of us. I just went to my Friend Mindy Sue’s Graduation ceremony this morning at UCSB. Congratulations Mindy! I was so happy to find that the commencement speaker was Pico Iyer, one of the most revered and respected travel writers of today. I enjoyed his speech immensely. One of the things he said was “while some of you are going to get busy making a living, others will get busy making a life” He encouraged them to travel, to find the one thing that made them the most profoundly happy in their lives. I only hope that in the 10 minutes he had to speak that he was able to truly change lives. I was so touched by his words that I came home and looked through my bookshelves and found a book of his that I had not yet read. Sun after Dark. Now I have that to look forward to as well. This has been a fantastic weekend! And it’s not over yet…

Love, fin

“We travel, initially, to lose ourselves; and we travel, next to find ourselves. We travel to open our hearts and eyes and learn more about the world than our newspapers will accommodate. We travel to bring what little we can, in our ignorance and knowledge, to those parts of the globe whose riches are differently dispersed. And we travel, in essence, to become young fools again- to slow time down and get taken in, and fall in love once more.”

— Pico Iyer

5 Comments

Filed under Photography, Travel

5 responses to “The changing tide…

  1. Beautiful and exactly what I needed to read. Wishing you guys the best and can’t wait to read more!

  2. Jenny

    Wow, that is an amazing quote from Pico. Thanks for sharing. Very, very meaningful words.

  3. Helen Lee

    Hey, Shawn!

    Just got Vanessa’s message about your travel plans and wanted to let you know that I am now living in Newport Beach, Ca and would love to show you guys around if you want to come through! You are welcome to stay with us and whatever. I met you last summer at their wedding. I actually met you guys on your hike towards Crow Pass. You met Sasa (the super tall guy), on the hike. We are now at Newport Beach and truly loving it. WE are a block way from the beach!

    Have an excellent trip if we don’t see you, but I hope we do!
    Helen

Leave a Reply

