Hope & Inspiration

We made it down the Al-Can Hwy. We survived Alaska! Actually I’m going to miss Alaska more than I ever imagined I would. We came down a slightly different route than the way we came up which put us through Western Alberta and Jasper National park. Stunningly beautiful! We considered jumping out and staying. The difficulty with being stuck in a car is that most of the time we are not able to stop along the way and take photos, which is painful for us. In spite of being in a car in which the windows were permanently safety locked, we snapped away and this post is all photos taken from the car… We’ve been told throughout this trip that we are an inspiration and we’ve been asked what inspired us to embark on this journey. I don’t know if there is one answer to that question, but most of our inspiration comes from each other. I can remember the exact moment that the idea was born and I think it stemmed from our desire to do something different. Different than what we were doing. We wanted an adventure and we wanted to co-mingle it with our creative talents.The seed was planted and it quickly took on a life of its own. I did some initial internet research and was fortunate enough to find Wade Shepard’s website http://www.vagabondjourney.com/. I encourage anyone who is traveling or about to, to check out this site. It continues to be a wealth of inspiration and information for us. There is an entire page dedicated to information on and about hitchhiking. From there it was all about preparing to go. Not looking forward and not looking back. Having the multitude of support from Family, friends and strangers is what keeps us inspired. Now, here we are in Hope, British Columbia, working our way down to the lower 48. We may be weary, in need of a shower and a clean pair of socks but there is no place I would rather be than right here, right now. What inspires you?

9 Comments

Filed under Photography

9 responses to “Hope & Inspiration

  1. Oh come on now my windows were not permanently safety locked. It seems to just be one of those quirky things that happen to machinery that gives them personality. They are still working for the time being.
    Hey I found Suzanne’s rain fly. It was under passengers seat Where do you want me to send it?
    Got my refrigerator repaired in my trailer. SO I’m about ready to head to BRC.
    Best Wishes
    Mike Gowan

  2. Glad you are out there! Truly great action shots — really shows the blur and excitement of hitchhiking.

  3. Valentina

    Pictures are awsome; I feel that they show the true moment for what it was, Glade to hear you guys are safe; be careful of the ticks Canada is full of Lyme…
    Miss you two, You will forever be in my thoughts

  4. that deer is in need of some supernatural powers or some good luck. What inspires me? Growing my hair out to lock it soon. This journey has inspired me to write, so I am blogging more.. Nice pics….I would be the exact same as you are if I was in your shoes! A picture fanatic. I would want every shot that my eye/camera could find!

  5. Samantha

    Please tell me that dear survived!

Leave a Reply

