Road Warriors!

For as long as I can remember I’ve loved road trips. As a child my Dad and I would often jump in the car on a lazy Sunday afternoon and go for long drives out in the country. The road seemed to go on forever and it didn’t matter that there was no destination in mind. We would stop at abandoned houses and go through them hoping to find some long forgotten treasure sometimes we got lucky. Then we’d stop for Ice cream on the way home. Those were good times. Still, I love nothing more than packing it up and hitting the highway with the one I love.

We left bright and early Friday morning, trying to beat the imminent storm ahead.  We smoked Cigarettes while Gillian Welch sang us down the road with her dusty Americana vocals. Eating PB & J’s, sleeping in noisy truck stops and shooting pictures through mud-spattered windows. We thought we’d be able to pick up a hitchhiker or two along the way but there were none. I suppose that had something to do with the weather. So, we made our way through snow, sleet, wind and torrential rain. We can’t wait to do it again.

Through a rainy window

Snowy trees

Snow covered gate, Dunsmuir Ca.

Good~bye for now!

Starfin

 

16 Comments

Filed under Adventure, Hitchhiking, Landscapes, Nature, Photo Blog, Photography, Travel, Vagabonds

16 responses to “Road Warriors!

  1. Wonderful exitlnaapon of facts available here.

  2. Nice photos.

    You may want to see this video sometime:

    “Only Kindness Matters”
    http://handimade.org/kindness/

    “Chris McCandless Revisited”
    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2010/08/chris-mccandless-revisited.html

  3. Wow, I really like that first photo.

  4. Abby Corner

    Hey you guys! You probably don’t remember me, but we met towards the end of August last year on Orcas Island in the Moran State Park. My red-haired friend and I camped out there for probably a night, so if you guys have no clue who I am, I understand. I’ve been periodically checking out your blog, and I’m glad to see you guys are doing well! Reading this gives me hope that I can live the life that I want for myself, even though it’s outside of the norm. I’m a senior in high school, so I’ve been wrestling with what I’ll be doing next year. Of course, I know what I’d like to be doing, but I don’t think it’ll be accepted, so I’m scared to actually go through with it.
    The pictures you guys take are so full of stories and life; they’re beautiful.
    Shanti

    • Of course we remember you! Thank you so much for stopping by our blog and leaving a comment! I hope you will continue to drop by from time to time 🙂
      “Expose yourself to your deepest fear; after that, fear has no power, and the fear of freedom shrinks and vanishes. You are free.”
      ~Jim Morrison
      Wishing you all the best no matter what you do.

      Suzanne

  5. You are really REALLY gifted … I just clicked on your blog after you commented on mine (Heifer 12 x 12) and am just in love with your photos. AND because I’m a fellow Road Warrior, I totally appreciate the sentiment. Just a GEM!

  6. Beautiful drive! I also love to get out on the road even if it’s just an afternoon. I love that every time I read your blog I feel inspired to get out and see more! I’ve never heard of Gillian Welch, but I’m definitely going to have to check it out! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Thanks for introducing me to Gillian Welch (and sharing your drive!)

    I’ll be stopping by now and then because ya’ll resonate with me. (=

Leave a Reply

